This site is compatible with assistive technology. Skip to the global navigation including contact us, about us, site index and find us. Skip to the main navigation.
Georgia Department of Labor
Contact Us About Us Site Index Find Us
Job Seekers Employers Workforce Professionals
Home / Employers / Child Labor
Child Labor Work Hour Restrictions
Minors 16 and 17 years of age have no state or federal law work hour restrictions.

Georgia Work Hour Restrictions


Minors under the age of 16 may work no more than:
  • 4 hours on a school day
  • 8 hours on a nonschool day
  • 40 hours during a nonschool week
Minors under the age of 16 may :
  • Not work before 6 a.m.
  • Not work after 9 p.m.
No minor under 16 years of age shall be permitted to work during the hours when public or private schools are in session unless said minor has completed senior high school or has been excused from attendance in school by a county or independent school system board of education in accordance with the general policies and regulations promulgated by the State Board of Education.

Federal Work Hour Restrictions

Minors 14 and 15 years of age can work:
  • 3 hours on a school day
  • 8 hours on a nonschool day
  • 18 hours in a school week
  • 40 hours in a nonschool week
Minors 14 and 15 years of age may:
  • Not work before 7:00 a.m.
  • Not work after 7:00 p.m. (extended to 9:00 p.m. June 1 through Labor Day)
  • Not work during normal school hours
Minors 14 or 15 years of age who do not attend school (home schooled, married, excused from school, etc.) are subject to the above restrictions. They MAY NOT WORK DURING THE HOURS THE LOCAL SCHOOL SYSTEM IS IN SESSION.

Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) must adhere to the federal restrictions.

Employers may call one of these offices of the U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL) Wage and Hour Division for information on federal laws and to find out if they are subject to the FLSA.
  • 404-893-4600 in Atlanta
  • 912-652-4221 in Savannah
For more information on state laws contact the GDOL Child Labor section at 404-232-3260.
Employers - Quick Links
Forms and Publications
Employment Laws and Rules
Required Posters
Georgia New Hire Reporting
Alien Labor Certification
CareerOneStop
Privacy  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Accessibility Policy  |  Disclaimer

The Georgia Department of Labor is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program
georgia.gov U.S. Department of Labor Bobby Approved